NW Week

Tuesday, September 26, 2023

Travel restrictions globally for the Omicron Covid-19 variant

Travel restrictions globally for the Omicron

Key Takeaways:

  • According to the WHO, many countries have developed travel steps to protect against Omicron.
  • In addition, many countries have imposed new or increased existing limits on international air travel.

According to Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus of the World Health Organisation (WHO), the omicron variant of Covid-19 has been confirmed in at least 23 countries. Despite concerns about the new variant’s impact, WHO epidemiologist Maria van Kerkhove said that information on its contagiousness will be available “within days.”

Meanwhile, the WHO noted that as of Nov. 28, around 56 countries had implemented travel measures to protect against Omicron.

The United Nations head has criticized the moves, accusing countries of practicing “travel apartheid” by barring air travel from select African countries. South African health specialists were the first to open the variation.

The following are the various steps taken by countries around the world:

United States of America:

Following discovering the first known case of the omicron variant in California, the US has banned practically all foreigners who have visited one of eight southern African countries. Botswana, Eswatini, Namibia, South Africa, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, and Zimbabwe are involved.

South Korea:

As daily coronavirus case numbers surged to a new high, South Korea, which verified its first cases of the variety on Wednesday, has discontinued quarantine exemptions for fully vaccinated inbound travelers for two weeks.


To avert the spread of the Omicron version, the island government has improved border controls, extended quarantine, and restricted traffic on important toll highways.


To enter France from outside the European Union or Schengen zone, all travelers must provide a negative Covid-19 certificate, regardless of vaccination status.


Travelers from Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Eswatini, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe must either self-isolate for ten days or produce two negative Covid-19 tests on Days 4 and 6.

The United Kingdom (UK)

Within 48 hours of land in the country, visitors must perform a mandatory RT-PCR test. After that, they should remain isolated until the results are available. For members of ten southern African countries added to the country’s red list, the regulations are tighter.


Nigeria, Malawi, Egypt, South Africa, Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, and Eswatini are among the ten countries in southern Africa where travel is restricted.


Flights from South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, Seychelles, Malawi, and Mozambique have been banned.

Hong Kong

It has compiled a list of 16 high-risk countries, including Canada and Australia, from which no non-citizens will be permitted entry into the region. Meanwhile, citizens will be subjected to a 21-day quarantine.


All inbound and transiting air travelers will be required to take a pre-departure test and a post-departure test.


On Thursday, Japan lifted a ban on new inbound flight reservations. All foreigners and residents arriving from ten African countries, on the other hand, have been denied entry. Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Lesotho, Malawi, Zambia, and Zimbabwe are ten countries.

New Zealand

The country has yet to see any omicron covid-19 cases; therefore, a new “traffic light system” will begin on Friday. Depending on vaccination rates and Covid-19 cases, regions are assigned to red, orange, or green zones.

Source: Indianexpress News

Get Northwest Territories and Canada‚Äôs top News, Latest News, and other news of the world only at the most trustable news website of Canada nwweek.com

Show More

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *